AMD & Windows 8 PC – Building a better Future – I hope !


Image representing AMD as depicted in CrunchBase

Image via CrunchBase

 

So,

Our £60 second hand windows XP PC is on its last legs – it’s a dual core something with 512M ram and struggles ….I mean really struggles… to the point that the wife wants to throw it out the window…

So I thought it time to get a new machine. Now being techy , I’ve built PCs before… So buying a setup already built wasnt my idea of fun or cheap

I wanted to spend a max of 300 all in for a system and it HAD to be windows 8..

So to start with I looked at processors. I stumbled upon a site that mentioned AMD did a APU (processor and graphics card in one)… This looked idea as we’re not PC gamers and only use it for mild photo editing, surfing and office…

AMD A8 5600K Black Edition 3.6GHz Socket FM2 4MB L2 Cache Retail Boxed Processor – £61.71 +VAT
This was my end choice and funnily enough was cheaper than the 5500K

Good, no need to get a graphics card then… nice

Next – motherboard. Nothing funky here so bagged a cheap one

Biostar A55ML2 Socket FM2 VGA 6 Channel Audio mATX Motherboard – £29.74 +VAT

Memory was next – I decided to go for 1x4Gig stick for the moment and get another 1x4Gig next month if the machine needs it

Corsair DDR3 1600MHz 4GB 1X240 DIMM Unbuffered – £22.20 +VAT

HDD – Speed of booting and access is important for us so I decided to go for the middle ground and get one of the new hybrid drives  – A mix of SSD solid state fast cached access plus the storage capacity of a traditional drive

Seagate 500GB Sollid State Hybrid Drive (SSHD) – £54.16 +VAT

Shove in a PSU, Case and DVD writer and we’re done
Tesla 500W 12cm Fan ATX PSU – £12.49 + VAT

 

Casecom MA-1199 Piano Black MATX Tower Case – £13.32 + VAT

Liteon Ihas120 20x Dvd±rw (dual ±r)/ram Sata Drive – £11.66 +VAT

in Total that came to £246. Not too bad for my budget of 300. Although I still needed to get an OS to go on it…

Next episode I’ll go into the construction of the PC…

 

Leave a Reply

